Boom.

Looking back through rose-tinted glasses, the Boomers want to believe they were all involved in the big sweeping reforms of the day.  It was peace, love, and music, and everybody marched and everybody won.

But that’s not the way I remember it at all.

There were murders.  There were riots.  There was violence.  There were just a few noisy voices agitating for change, and they were locked up and shouted down.

Most of America was big quivering mass of obedience and indifference.

Just like today.

3 thoughts on “Boom.

  1. It is true little has changed politically, but I like to think we (the people who lived it) changed. We are different than those that came before us and see the world differently than any other generation in history. I think it is that we were just as powerless as the ones faced with change are today.

    Like

    • You’re right. I think in a lot of ways Boomers did get the ball rolling. Whatever you grow up with is what you think of as normal, so just looking around and asking “Why is it like this?” was a huge difference.

      I was just a kid at the time. It’s probably worth noting that I lived in Brimfield, Ohio- just a few miles down the road from Kent State University. Forty years down the road, and there are still topics you just don’t bring up at the family reunions. 😉

      One thing the Boomers had going for them (two if you count the music) that the current generation lacks is leaders to rally around. “Kids Today” are able to get a lot of attention with #hashtags and such, but aren’t able to coalesce and turn that into lawsuits and legislation.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes! I was about 16 or 17 when Kent State happened. I remember Crosby Stills and Nash’s take on it. but I also remember Martin Luther King’s assassination and the Watts riots. It was a time for being pissed off – and it was a time for love in the park. I believe our memories (people like you and I) are helping to keep it alive. You in your tree house and me on the roads of America.

        Like

Comments are closed.