Connections

I used to work in the Alzheimer’s ward of a nursing home, and we had one resident there who had once been a featured dancer with the Glenn Miller Orchestra.  I used to dance sometimes just to hear him laugh and clap and shout “Go, Cat, Go!”

He told me one time, “I know my mind is going.  I just want to have as much fun as I can for as long as I can.”

A few days ago my neighbor across the street told me her cancer had gotten worse.  There are some invasive, hail-Mary type things they could try, but she’s opted out.  The doctors tell her she has two to three months to live, and she says she’s okay  with that.

She told me that several times.  I really think she is, but she’s probably used to people not believing her.

It’s hard to know what to say when someone says they’re going to die soon. Hallmark doesn’t make a card for that.  The words that came out of me were, “I’ll help you have as much fun as you can for as long as you can,” and that made her smile.

A connection was made between two people who never met.

And that makes me smile.

One thought on “Connections

  1. … I don’t think that a lot of people are ready to deal with someone being so willing to move on… KT doesn’t like to hear me say things like, “let me go in a pauper’s grave and if I have any money left, spend it on yourself” … I mean, I have had SUCH a run and I have enjoyed my life that when it is my time… just let me go…

    Like

Comments are closed.