Miss Dietrich, If You’re Nasty

An excerpt from newsman H. Allen Smith’s autobiography Low Man On A Totem Pole, ©1941:

One evening I went to interview Marlene Dietrich.  I walked into her apartment at the Waldorf-Astoria, and there she stood, poured into an evening gown, more beautiful than she had ever been on the screen.  Even the surroundings were beautiful, and for a moment I was whipped.  I was overwhelmed by beauty, and my brain wouldn’t give me anything to say.  Then I took hold of myself.  It was utterly necessary that I bring this situation down to earth.  She sat down, and I sat down and I said:

“Miss Dietrich, what would you say if I asked you to pull up your dress and let me see your legs?”

She didn’t bat an eye.

“Why don’t you ask me?” she said.

“All right,” I said, “pull up your dress and let me see your legs.”

“No.”

Mr. Smith, Miss Dietrich eats punks like you for breakfast.

One thought on “Miss Dietrich, If You’re Nasty

Comments are closed.