Compassion

Actor/author Wil Wheaton went through a recent health scare with his wife that required multiple trips to the emergency room.  This is the part of his story that resonated with me, because I realized that in all of the times I’ve been to the hospital with my Mona, we’ve never heard these words:

“That isn’t normal for a kidney stone or constipation,” the doctor says. “I’m going to get you an ultrasound, and some more pain medication.” Then, she does something I realize that the two other doctors we’ve seen since this all started didn’t do: she takes a moment and says, “I’m so sorry that you’re in so much pain, and I’m sorry that hurt so much. We’re going to figure out what’s going on with you, and I won’t send you home until we do.”

Read the whole account at WilWheaton.net.

One thought on “Compassion

  1. …and that is a point I try to make with my partner… that her doctors don’t see “her” they see what they have learned, they see their experience, and that they DON’T see her as a person…

    Like

Comments are closed.