Fogie

When I was a young man, you could buy a book and it was Your Book.  You could read it as many times as you wanted, loan it to whoever you wanted for as long as you wanted, even give it away when you didn’t want it anymore.  Keep it under your mattress if you want to, and nobody even knows you have a book.

Now we’re moving into an age where everything is owned, tracked, and controlled by a handful of corporations.  You can’t really buy anything.  Give them your money and they’ll let you use a digital copy, under their conditions, for a little while, with the caveat that they can snatch it away any time they want to.

They’re trying to say this is the way things should be, but it just doesn’t feel right to me.

I guess I’m an analog man in a digital world.

2 thoughts on “Fogie

  1. I am with you! I am , too. Luckily, there ARE (thank goodness) still old fashioned books you can touch and feel, and fall asleep with and share with others.

    Like

Comments are closed.